Reflections on the Gospel of John

I am pleased to see the amount of traffic and response that this little site is generating. I hope it continues to grow. I also realize that this depends on how faithfully I keep posting… That being said, I’m enjoying the discipline of keeping things running.

It seems to me that the commitment that has been best embraced is the reading of the Gospel of John. It would be great to hear from each other what we are learning from the experience. I appreciate Roy’s recent comment:

“I have completed the Gospel of John. What struck me is the number of times that Jesus says, ‘I tell you the truth.’ When you listen to the entire book…this line just jumps out at you time and time again. He of all [people] here on earth, prefacing his comments with, “I tell you the truth” seems ironic to me. Did anyone else note something special??”

What I have noticed is how many times Jesus has to resist arrest by the religious authorities. Again and again he has to withdraw from where he is, avoid certain places, or simply walk away because they want him dead. The amazing grace, mercy and presence of Jesus is such a threat to the establishment.

What have you noticed? Let’s hear from each other!

5 responses to “Reflections on the Gospel of John

  1. Like Roy says, Jesus does say “I tell you the truth” quite a bit. It’s amazing to think how many times people have to be told that Jesus is indeed speaking the truth. One instance is found in John 8:45-47:
    “Yet because I tell the truth, you do not believe me! Can any of you prove me guilty of sin? If I am telling the truth, why don’t you believe me? He who belongs to God hears what God says. The reason you do not hear is that you do not belong to God”

    WOW! It’s amazing to think how blunt Christ is. Sometimes I wonder if we were more blunt in our actions and dialogue how our world might be. Of course we can not speak on the same terms of Christ, but I wonder if we spoke truthfully and honestly blunt and stopped pretending and keeping secrets what our world would be like. Any thoughts?

  2. I finished reading the gospel of John on the 15th of October and thought I would have the last part of the month to kind of coast along and try to get ahead of my fellow elders in reading the (shake up your view of what it means to be church in the world today) book called “Exiles”. This blog and it’s posted comments have not allowed me to do that at all. I have found myself to be constantly drawn back into this gospel discovering the amazing love of God through Jesus, the Word of life and through the Spirit of Truth! I am reading this gospel over again, intrigued by the words “I tell you the truth”, and I am substituting “God’s Word” whenever I see the words “the truth”. I’m doing this because of what we read in John 17:17 which is the definition of truth…..your word is truth. Jesus says “I am the way, God’s Word and the life. John 14:6-7. John starts out his gospel, In the begining was the Word(truth) and the Word(truth) was with God and the Word(truth) was God. He(the truth, the Word) was with God in the beginning. We as followers of Christ need to be religious about knowing the truth, believing the truth, obeying the truth, telling the truth and delighting in the Truth! Thanks Roy and Jason for your comments and for everyone blogging together, for now, I’m going to try and head back to the “Exiles” again and if there is time I’ll comment on a Simple Committiment towards the end of the month! p.s. Kevin, I think I know where your lost cd of Bono being interviewed by Bill Hybels went to!–hint–talk to Homer

  3. Gerry,

    Thanks for your words. It’s amazing how taking time to absorb the gospels opens up depths of meaning to concepts like “truth.” These are words that we (I) often reduce to make them understandable, yet Jesus challenges us to expand our understanding.

    Thanks also for the Bono sighting. Someone did give it to me earlier, having found it tucked away in a hiding spot–so I was the one who gave it to Homer. Have fun with “Exiles!”

  4. It seems clear that the purpose is that we might believe that Jesus is the Christ and believing we might have life in his name (or have faith in Christ and the Father). I find it interesting that the word FAITH is not found in the Book of John, or I have not found it. Is it that John always speak of an active faith or believe believing, etc.

  5. Most of us hide the truth from ourselves because it is painful to admit, and it is our general nature as humans to lie to ourselves about who we are. It takes significant work to address TRUTH, and the quote from John 8:45-47 brings the point home.

    If you find reality (truth) hard to bare, find something positive in it, and focus on that. One common theme I find in all religions and quotes from great people is to focus on the positive, and visualize it in the truth of things. We may all sin sometimes, but if we admit it and realign our behavior toward a positive approach to a positive goal, we are on the right track.

    Also, remembering the truth of our past sins, instead of burying them, is a valuable measure of our progress toward a better lived life – a life that leaves the world a better place when we are gone!

Leave a Reply

