A Prayer for Health

A chunk of my time goes to the Eastern Canada Leadership Development Network (www.ecldn.ca). In preparing for an upcoming session, I’m reading Peter Scazzero’s “Emotionally Healthy Spirituality” which is hugely insightful into the ways that our emotional life affects our walk with God.  At the end of each chapter, he offers a prayer. Here is a beautiful and powerful prayer for those of us who seek to honour God with our whole selves and know how hard that can be at times:

O God, I thank you for your grace and mercy in my life. If it were not for you, I would not even be aware of you or my need for your transforming work deep beneath the surface of my life. Lord, give me the courage to be honest and to allow the Holy Spirit’s power to invade all of who I am below the surface…so that Jesus might be formed in me. Lord, help me to grasp how wide and long and high and deep the love of Christ is for me personally. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One thought on “A Prayer for Health

Leave a Reply

