Are You Accident-Prone?

From Philip Yancey:

A rabbi taught that experiences of God can never be planned or achieved. ‘They are spontaneous moments of grace, almost accidental.’

His student asked, ‘Rabbi, if God-realization is just accidental, why do we work so hard doing all these spiritual practices?’

The rabbi replied, ‘To be as accident-prone as possible.’

-Prayer, Does it Make Any Difference? (Zondervan, 2006) p.106

One thought on “Are You Accident-Prone?

  1. Interesting that this entry should come on a day when I’ve broken a few things, and been rather accident-prone myself. No surprise there: it’s part of my nature. I’m always bumping into things, dropping things, breaking things. I’m a self-proclaimed klutz.

    I would also say I’m rather accidental in my spiritual life. Klutzy, almost. Sometimes it seems so random when I experience God’s still voice, so out of the blue that I receive his grace. But, after I think about that, I guess I learn the most about Him (and myself) when I mess up.

    I guess there’s a good reason to be accident-prone after all. :0)

Leave a Reply

