Day 5: James 1:23-27

Here is today’s reading.  As always, your reflections are welcome in the comments section.

Those who listen to the word but do not do what it says are like people who look at their faces in a mirror and, after looking at themselves, go away and immediately forget what they look like.  But those who look intently into the perfect law that gives freedom and continue in it—not forgetting what they have heard but doing it—they will be blessed in what they do.

Those who consider themselves religious and yet do not keep a tight rein on their tongues deceive themselves, and their religion is worthless.  Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.  (TNIV)

2 thoughts on “Day 5: James 1:23-27

  1. We all practice good hygiene. We make sure that when we go out to anything public, our teeth are brushed, bodies washed hair shampooed, and razors have been applied to appropriate places and faces. Much of what we do to “clean” ourselves up is done in front of a mirror.

    But could you imagine standing in front of the mirror with hair uncombed, unshaven, teeth unbrushed, wrinkled clothes, and then walk away without doing anything before heading out? Probably not. Most often when we see physical “flaws” in the mirror, we do something about it.

    So what about “Spiritual Hygiene? We’re told in James that God’s word acts like a mirror in that it helps us see what parts of our lives need correcting, especially in matters that pertain to the heart.

    When I look at my life I’d hate to admit how often I’ve looked in the “mirror” and then walked away without making the necessary adjustments.

    The wise person, and the person of positive influence says James, is the person who looks at himself in the mirror of God’s word and then makes the necessary adjustments in order to love like Jesus loved and live like he lived.

    So if doing this is so wise and good, why is it so hard and why do we so often neglect to do it?

  2. I think of the time when I had walked away from the truth so many years ago. I had stopped reading my bible, going to church, hanging around with people who knew Jesus.
    When I went home to visit my Christian parents they would remind me how much God loved me and wanted me to “come home”, renew my faith. They were my spiritual mirrors. They read their bibles everyday and prayed for me (and many others in need). I saw God working in their lives.
    It gave me the push I needed to read my bible again, rededicate my life to God and start on my journey, my relationship with him.
    It is a fight to keep myself in the word; but, better in the word and fighting for life everlasting than in the world and dying a slow sinful death.

Leave a Reply

