Day 8: James 2:14-17

Here is today’s reading.  We have been using the SOAP method to help our study.  You can find a description of it here.  And you can find the full 21 day reading schedule through the book of James here.

What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if people claim to have faith but have no deeds?  Can such faith save them?  Suppose a brother or sister is without clothes and daily food.  If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it?  In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead. (TNIV)

2 thoughts on “Day 8: James 2:14-17

  1. S-scripture: James 2:14-17

    O-observation: There was obviously a lot of favouritism happening in the church that James is writing to. People who had status and money, seemed to be getting all the breaks, while people with little status and little money seemed to be getting no breaks at all. Also, there seems to be a reluctance on the part of those with status and wealth, to give up any of their resources to those who had little. Makes me wonder why? Was it fear that if they did they would have less? And what about the posturing? It also seemed like there were a lot of posers in the church who talked a good line, but when push came to shove, didn’t back up their words with actions.

    A-application: As I read this question, I hear God asking me if I back up my words with action, specifically as it relates to people in my own church community who have less than I do. What is my attitude to them? Do I just give the standard line and tell them that I’m praying for them, and after that do nothing to help them out? And what’s my attitude toward my money? Do I make sure I think about myself first before I think of others? Do I really trust that if I’m generous with my resources as God is generous to me that he will look after me? My challenge then is to be very aware of those around me who have needs, and then offer them more than words, if it is more than words that they need. If my faith really means something, God is challenging me to be generous with my time and with my resources, and offer them as genuine expression of love to those I may be more inclined to avoid.

    P-prayer: God give me an awareness of those around me today. Give me the courage to break out of my comfortable circle and offer genuine expressions of love in the form of time and material resources to those who need them. Help me trust that as I do this, I will see you and experience you in more real and tangible ways. Thank you God for offering everything you have for me. In Jesus name I pray. Amen.

  2. It seems we cannot get to heaven on faith alone.
    At the same time we cannot get to heaven by deeds alone.
    An action is necessary in both situations.
    We need to be active in our faith through right relationship with God, reading our bible and praying.
    We need to be actively doing good deeds as a way to live out our faith.
    It is more than praying for others. It involves doing things for those in our families, our communities.
    I guess I should learn from our neighbor. I do not know his faith background but he came over on Saturday without being asked and helped John snow blow the driveway. It was a good deed, indeed!
    God, help me to be more like my neighbor and step out in faith to help others. Amen.

Leave a Reply

